back to top

Art’s Council Announces 2011 Perry F. Kendig Awards

The Arts Council of the Blue Ridge is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Perry F. Kendig Award for Outstanding Support of the Arts. The 2011 recipients will be George Kegley as Outstanding Individual, Roanoke Symphony Orchestra as Outstanding Arts & Cultural Organization, Woods Rogers PLC for Outstanding Business, Joanne Steele for Outstanding Arts Educator and Douglas Jackson as Outstanding Young Professional.

Individual awards for artistic excellence will be presented to: Ernie Zulia, Performing Artist; Nancy Dahlstrom, Visual Artist; and Sharyn McCrumb, Literary Artist.

A new award for Outstanding Emerging Arts Organization will be given to The Shadowbox Community Microcinema in recognition of its impact on our community since opening in 2010.

The Perry F. Kendig Award, named for the late Roanoke Valley arts patron and a former president of Roanoke College, was established in 1985 to recognize examples of support, involvement, accomplishment in the arts, and to inform the community about significant contributions to the arts in our region.  The awards are chosen by a committee of community volunteers based on nominations from the general public.  A reception and award ceremony will be held at the Taubman Museum of Art on May 11. For information on tickets call 540.342.5790.

This event is sponsored by the Newbern Family Foundation and Business Solutions, Inc. This activity is funded in part by the City of Roanoke, the Virginia Commission for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Latest Articles


  1. Excuse me if I’m out of line, but what are the requirements for Young Professional these days? I assumed it was 35 and under. While Doug Jackson is a huge supporter, at age 43, I really don’t think he qualifies.

- Advertisement -Fox Radio CBS Sports Radio Advertisement

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -Fox Radio CBS Sports Radio Advertisement

Related Articles