back to top

Twenty Teachers Vying For $25,000 McGlothlin Awards

Twenty outstanding teachers from across the Blue Ridge region are still in the running for two ,000 McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence. These teachers, all selected as semi-finalists for the 12th annual McGlothlin Awards, now begin the second phase of the awards program which will culminate April 12, 2011 at Radford University.

The awards program, now in its 12th year, was established by the McGlothlin Foundation based in Bristol, Va. Blue Ridge PBS administers the McGlothlin Awards. This is the first year  Dr. Rose Martin, the station’s education services director, has led the program. Martin has worked in many schools over the past 28 years, as a teacher, principal and superintendent.

“I am extremely impressed with the quality of our applicants and the commitment to innovative teaching of this year’s McGlothlin Awards semifinalists,” she said. “The McGlothlin Awards are a great way to celebrate and recognize the best teachers in the Blue Ridge region.”

The McGlothlin Awards are among the largest teaching prizes in the U.S. They are given annually to exceptional educators from public schools in selected portions of Virginia, Tennessee, West Virginia and Kentucky. Two teachers, one from grades K-5 and one from grades 6-12, are awarded $25,000 each, with the stipulation that $10,000 be used for international travel to broaden the thinking and experience of the winning teachers. Four finalists will also be recognized with a trophy and a check for $1,000.

“Every year I’m amazed at the skills, creativity and professionalism we find among teachers across the Blue Ridge PBS region,” said Thomas D. McGlothlin, President of the McGlothlin Foundation.

Adele Morris, the technology director for Craig County Public Schools, has been a McGlothlin Awards judge for many years. “The McGlothlin Awards are a fantastic opportunity for teachers to self-evaluate their craft, as they go through the submission process,” she said. “Any teacher making the semi-final round should be very proud of their accomplishments.”

In the next phase of judging, the semi-finalists must submit a standards-based lesson plan with a 20-minute video of themselves teaching the lesson in their classrooms. Judges will evaluate the teachers’ classroom instruction, classroom management, interaction with students, and, if possible, use of instructional technology such as computers, video, or digital cameras. Six finalists, three each at the elementary school level and secondary school level, will be notified in January.

Roanoke area 2011 McGlothlin Awards semi-finalists are: Catey Moretz, Oak Grove Elementary, Roanoke County Schools,  Lauri Gearhart, Preston Park Elementary, Roanoke City Schools, Debbie Harris, Read Mountain Middle, Botetourt County Schools, Susan Montgomery, The Gereau Center, Franklin County Schools, and; Mary Slone, South Floyd High, Floyd County Schools.

For more information go to

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -Fox Radio CBS Sports Radio Advertisement

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -

Related Articles