back to top

Rimsky-Korsakov Descendant to Make U.S. Debut in Roanoke

The Roanoke Symphony Orchestra with David Stewart Wiley, Music Director, opens a new season on Monday evening October 5, 2009.  Opening Night is the first concert event of the RSO’s 2009-2010 Masterworks Series and takes place at the Roanoke Performing Arts Theatre.

The season opening concert includes works by German composers Richard Strauss and Johannes Brahms, plus Austrian composer Franz von Suppé and Contemporary Mexican composer Arturo Márquez.  Violinist Natasha Korsakova performs the Brahms violin concerto on the Opening Night program with Maestro Willey and the RSO.  Unannounced encore selections are also likely.

Korsakova, of Russian-Greek decent, was born into a musical family in Moscow and is a descendant of the composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov.  She began playing the violin at the age of 5 and has appeared in some of the world’s most prestigious concert halls including the Philhamonie in Berlin, Gewandhaus in Leipzig, Tokyo’s Santory Hall, Cologne Philharmonie, Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, Wigmore Hall in London, Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome and Alte Oper in Frankfurt.  In addition, Korsakova serves as a testimonial for designer Laura Biagiotti, wearing outfits from the Laura Biagiotti Prêt-à-Porter collection during her performances. Korsakova makes her concert debut in the United States with the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra on the October 5th Opening Night concert. More information about violinist Natasha Korsakova may be found at her web site at

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -Fox Radio CBS Sports Radio Advertisement

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -

Related Articles